Sign Post with Messages

Re-entry Programs

North Carolina has implemented five pilot Re-entry Councils to help ease the transition from prison back to the community.   These pilots are located in Buncombe, Hoke-Robeson-Scotland, Nash-Edgecombe, Mecklenburt and Pitt counties.  Five additional pilots are underway.  The pilots are funded for a limited period with  grant funds and then must identify federal or local sources to continue their work.  Re-entry Councils work to  address local housing, employment and substance abuse treatment needs of individuals coming out of the prison system.

The North Carolina Department of Public Saftey (DPS) manages the Office of Transition Services (OTS).  OTS is responsible for the coordination of all internal activities related to transition and reentry.   The Office of Transition Services provides assistance to internal and external stakeholders in developing policies and procedures, shaping new programs and providing training for DPS staff in effective transition and reentry.